.
Photography Question
INDEX » ARTISTIC HELP » PHOTOGRAPHY QUESTION PAGES: 1
 
(#1)
Reb!rth.
King
2132's avatar
Pageviews: 1,550
From: Airdrie, Scotland
Registered: May 20th, 2008
Posts: 41
Member No.: 2,132

Ok, I'm new to photography as I only got my camera yesterday. It's a Lumix TZ5 in case you have to know.

Right.. Here's the problem.. I'm a noob, okay? On this picture I took yesterday from my home in sunny Scotland, I am focussed past the blinds at the tree and the door, so how would I focus on the blinds? Not that I would want to, I'm just using this as an example. Thanks to anyone who helps.

http://i149.photobucket.com/albums/s74/DarkPixel/FocusProbs.jpg

PS ::: Quality sucks because I lowered it on Photoshop, due to this being an example.

Previously edited by Reb!rth. (May 31st, 2008 3:57 PM)


Mr Siggy Coming Soony big_smile
(#2)
surmise
Member
2473's avatar
Pageviews: 588
Registered: June 24th, 2008
Posts: 28
Member No.: 2,473

i am a photographer but i'm not familiar with this exact model of camera.... what is it most closely related to?  I'm in america.  does it relate closely to cannon for example?

(#3)
Lawlhalla
Boltzmann constant = 1.3806503 10-23 m2 kg s-2 K
Lawlhalla's avatar
Pageviews: 36,758
From: Netherlands
Registered: February 11th, 2007
Posts: 4,152
Member No.: 174

do camera's like these even have manual focus ?

http://www.letsgodigital.org/images/artikelen/38/panasonic-lumix-dmc-tz5.jpg


cletus is my apprentice
(#4)
*.cletuS
WTF?
.cletuS's avatar
Pageviews: 80,043
From: Manchester, UK
Registered: February 10th, 2007
Posts: 6,231
Member No.: 158

no they dont


lawlhalla is my master

http://www.randomforumtitle.com/download/file.php?avatar=53_1288713237.png

(#5)
Quintessenze
Member
Quintessenze's avatar
Pageviews: 461
Registered: June 27th, 2008
Posts: 26
Member No.: 2,503

as far as i know, on a normal digital camera like those, you hold the button down slightly but not all the way and it will change focus (that is what it does on mine) once you get the focus you want you press it down all they way to take the picture...obviously
hope that helps if not sorry big_smile
also if it doesnt work check your manual it may say something in there
-Jake


quintessenze.deviantart.com/
(#6)
down syndrome
Banned
514's avatar
Pageviews: 1,765
Registered: May 2nd, 2007
Posts: 504
Member No.: 514

i mean on a manual youd just change your focus and your f stop sad

(#7)
grafici
Member
2781's avatar
Pageviews: 294
Registered: July 17th, 2008
Posts: 2
Member No.: 2,781

yeah unless you have a DSLR you cant really control your focus. you can jus keep pressing the button halfway and hope it focuses what you want...


grafici.deviantart.com
(#8)
AxPx
Ridiculously Cosmic
AxPx's avatar
Pageviews: 7,245
From: Frisco
Registered: June 7th, 2008
Posts: 104
Member No.: 2,208

Ok if you don't have an SLR it can get really frustrating trying to get the result you want. Your camera probably has a few different settings. There's usually a flower icon, for macro, which is focus up close, and then a mountain icon for telefoto, focus far away. So try messing with those to get what you want. Some cameras have a feature where you can set it to focus on whatever is closest to the camera lens, though I couldn't tell you how to do that with your specific model


I Still Have My Dreams.
http://axpx.net
(#9)
Stoneface
Member
365's avatar
Pageviews: 3,409
Registered: April 4th, 2007
Posts: 141
Member No.: 365

1.) Get an SLR.
2.) Don't take  pictures through blinds like that.
3.) Look for more interesting material.

I don't see you being able to get deeply into photography with that camera.
Does it even support .raw format?



http://www.behance.net/stoneface
http://stoneface-gfx.deviantart.com
admin edit: I WON CHOCOLATEPLZ"s AWARD OF SHARING !! 67tuts

(#10)
ewok
:3
ewok's avatar
Pageviews: 4,611
From: san francisco
Registered: April 5th, 2007
Posts: 1,123
Member No.: 371

Stoneface wrote:

1.) Get an SLR.
2.) Don't take  pictures through blinds like that.
3.) Look for more interesting material.

I don't see you being able to get deeply into photography with that camera.
Does it even support .raw format?

thats the worst advice ever, you might as well consilidate that and say 'spend more money on your photography'.


the best advice I can think of is to try to read a little bit up on some of the essentials of photography like depth of field and the rule of thirds (naming a few), and then practicing.


http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z295/13door/minolta.jpg
(#11)
BrokenInside
Member
2089's avatar
Pageviews: 1,238
Registered: May 12th, 2008
Posts: 139
Member No.: 2,089

usually when you hold the button down halfway it with select focus then just movethe camera to where you want it to focus on and it should manually change the focus on the camera.

(#12)
shoutime
Member
2809's avatar
Pageviews: 632
Registered: July 19th, 2008
Posts: 25
Member No.: 2,809

I'd try adding some lighting effects. Thats just me. The subject matter is also kind of simple.

(#13)
sabreclaw
once a noob, still a noob
sabreclaw's avatar
Pageviews: 640
From: philippines
Registered: August 2nd, 2008
Posts: 26
Member No.: 2,993

put it on macro mode for closeup
if it has Av mode(aperture priority), use it.
then set it to the lowest number possible (lower number, bigger aperture)

 
INDEX » ARTISTIC HELP » PHOTOGRAPHY QUESTION PAGES: 1
Quick Reply
Write your message and submit

You must register to access this feature.